Restore mac to factory settings macbook air

You will need an internet connection for this, as OS X will be downloaded as it installs. Older versions of OS X may require physical media. You will also need your Apple ID. Quit the Disk Utility. You should be returned back to the OS X Utilities screen from above. Select Reinstall OS X. Click through the next few windows.


  • tevion dvd maker mac driver;
  • How to restore your Mac to factory settings.
  • How to Factory Reset Mac Without Losing Data!

Then, the process should start. On my not very fast connection, it took a few hours to download and reinstall OS X. Digital Trends: How to restore a mac to factory settings BleepingComputer.


  • tag rename mac os x.
  • remote access computer mac to pc.
  • c++ compiler mac mountain lion;
  • Guide | How to Factory Reset MacBook/iMac Without Losing Data – EaseUS.
  • mac mini vs htpc 2012.
  • age of empires 2 mac mountain lion!
  • cisco valet am10 mac driver.

Your email address will not be published. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Time limit is exhausted.

How To Erase Reset Restore a Macbook to Factory Settings - Mac OS X 2019 LATEST GUIDE

Notify me of follow-up comments by email. Notify me of new posts by email. Currently you have JavaScript disabled. In order to post comments, please make sure JavaScript and Cookies are enabled, and reload the page. This is the install wizard you went through when you first purchased your device. If you plan to sell or give away your MacBook Pro, you can now shut down the device. Setup Assistant will next offer you the chance to connect to WiFi - click the name of your network, then enter your WiFi password.

How to Factory Reset Your MacBook Air

The Assistant will then ask if you want to transfer information to this MacBook Pro. If you use it here however, it may also restore the software problem that caused you to reset your MacBook Pro in the first place!


  • How to Factory Reset Mac OS X to Original Default Factory Settings?
  • 1. Unlink your Apple ID?
  • How to Reset a MacBook Pro to Factory Settings Without a Disc | It Still Works?
  • word recipe book template mac.
  • Reader Interactions?

At this stage, you may be asked to sign in with your Apple ID. If you previously had an issue with macOS e. Mail failing to open, try to re-create it now to see if the problem still occurs. Visit Apple's website to find your nearest Apple Store or authorised repair outlet so you can have your MacBook Pro examined. Back to School Image credit: SimonWaldherr.

Back up your data Although you may want to reset your MacBook Pro to its default settings, you might have data like documents, photos and videos that you want to keep. This process erases any data already on the drive, so make sure to use a new or blank one. When you reset Mac, all the information you have on your hard drive is wiped off. This is like cloning your hard drive and keeping it for some time.

Factory Reset MacBook/iMac Without Losing Data

You can manually back up all your files and apps by copying everything to an external drive or iCloud. It allows to recover individual files and restore your whole hard drive in the event of a catastrophe. However, before you use Time Machine, make sure to clean up your Mac. Plus, a backup will go faster and more smoothly if your Mac is not cluttered. For a quick cleanup, you can use a utility like CleanMyMac X.

It will help you remove large and old files, useless apps, caches, and system junk in two clicks. Note that your first backup may take a long time, depending on how many files you have. Once your files are backed up, next be sure to disable any services that are associated with your system, including iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage, and deactivate programs on your Mac.

Video Tutorial on How to Recover Deleted Files on Mac

Did you know, you can authorize up to 5 computers, which means that you can play your content just on 5 different Macs? FileVault plays an important role on your Mac. It encrypts the data on your hard drive to prevent the unauthorized access to the information on your startup disk.

Sign out of iCloud to make sure that any remnants of the cloud data, such as bookmarks, notes, reminders, etc.

Before you restore Mac to factory settings, be sure to sign out of iMessage.

admin